The Zuri Awards 2018, took place last night, where women were recognized in different categories. Among the winners on the night included Dr. Chao Mbogo and Anne Cheboi.

The Zuri Awards recognize women who are doing amazing work in different categories. The awards were founded in 2017 and among the winners were  Buya Mukonzo Winfred, Natalie Robi and Suhaila Aboud of Gender Health Africa.

The 2018 judges chose 4 winners and 1 winner was voted for by the public. The 2018 Zuri Awards judges were:

  • Jennifer Muindi, Senior Corporate Relationship Manager, KCB Bank Kenya Ltd
  • Faith Ruguru Mutwiri, General Manager Transken Links Limited
  • Dinah Musindarwezo, Feminist & Gender and Development Expert
  • Derek Bbanga, Strategic Communications Skills, Image Strategist Entrepreneur
  • Barbara Akelo
  • Evelyn Chibole, Creative Designer & Entrepreneur
  • Rev. Dr. Julius Weche, Founder & CEO Akad Education Group – Africa.
  • Faith Oneya, Journalist, Daily Nation

The full list of Zuri Awards Winners are:

1. Leadership Award

Dr. Chao Mbogo, Founder, Kami Limu.

2. Innovation Award

Fatuma Abdulkadir Adan, Founder and Executive Director of Hodi Africa.

3. NGO Category Award

Kesho Alliance

4. Impact Award

Carolyne Nyambura, Founder, HELD Sister Foundation

5. People’s Choice Award

Anne Cheboi