The Kenya Film Commission (KFC) has announced the winners of the 11th edition of the Kalasha International Film and TV awards at a gala ceremony hosted at the Safari Park Hotel.

For the second year running, celebrated actress turned film director and producer Sarah Hassan carried the day during this year’s Kalasha International Awards. She won the coveted Best Lead Actress in a Film accolade. Her film Just in Time won in several categories.

The star made her dominance in the Kenyan film and TV sector felt as she swept all the top honours with different productions that were among the best 31 awards.

Her Showmax aired series, Crime and Justice, won her the Best Lead Actress in a TV Drama, with her Just in Time film producing the Best Lead Actor to Mawuli Gavor. Just in Time went on to win the Best Feature Film category.

Just in Time is a romantic-comedy movie directed by Dolapo Adeleke and Sarah Hassan. Celebrated thespians Stycie Waweru, Mawuli Gavor and Pierra Makena form part of the cast members.

Here is the full list of 2021 Kalasha International Awards winners:

  • Best Lead Actor in a Film: Mawuli Gavor in Just in Time
  • Best Lead Actress in a Film: Sarah Hassan in Just in Time
  • Best Supporting Actor in a Film: John Ndegwa in Kutu
  • Best Supporting Actress in a Film: Catherine Kamau in Kutu
  • Best Sound Designer: Kelvin Osoo in House of Secrets
  • Best Original Score: Karanja Kiarie in Crossroads
  • Best Documentary: Kesho Pia Ni Siku by Ngendo Mukii
  • Best Editor: Faith Musembi in Tales of the Accidental City
  • Best Lighting Technician: Walter Odhiambo in Adisa
  • Best Special Effects: Philip Kesenwa and Paul Jackton in Mission to Rescue
  • Best Special Effects: Philip Kesenwa and Paul Jackton in Mission to Rescue
  • Best Original Screenplay: Dennis Humprey in Fikirini
  • Best Feature Film: Just in Time by Sarah Hassan and Dolabo Adelele
  • Best Director of Photography: Ryan Tenga in Teleport
  • Best Short Film: Kutu by Peter Wangugi
  • Best Local Language Film: Fikirini by Dennis Humphrey
  • Best Director: Michelle Donde and Steph Sevani in House of Secrets
  • Best Production Designer: Harrison Mutinda in Mission to Rescue
  • Best Lead Actor in a TV Drama: Joe Kinywa (Njoro) in Njoro wa Uba
  • Best Lead Actress in a TV Drama: Sarah Hassan (Detective Makena) in Crime and Justice
  • Kituo Halisi Award: KU TV
  • Best Performance in a TV Comedy: Frank Kimani (Mr. Wang’ombe) in Varshita
  • Best TV Drama: Njoro wa Uba by Lucy Mwangi
  • Best Host in a TV Show: Abigael Wariaga (Captain Abby) in Bururi wa Ciana
  • Best TV Advertisement: Copia
  • Best Animation: Mondays and Fridays by Shawn Mwendwa
  • Best Kids Production: Bururi wa Ciana by Susan Njoki
  • Best International Award (Eastern Africa): Egna (Ethiopia) by Yoseph Baye
  • Best Feature by a Student: House of Secrets (USIU) by USIU Africa
  • Best Documentary by a Student: Beautiful Eyes by Kelvin Muriithi
  • Best TV Comedy: The XYX Show by King Muriuki
  • Best Lifetime Achiever: Judy Kibinge