The Kenya Rugby Union has announced that the return of the Victoria Cup rugby tournament that will be held on Saturday 24th August.

The Victoria Cup is a rugby union tournament contested by the four African countries that include; Kenya, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe as of 2019. After a seven-year hiatus, the competition was returned back to life following the Rugby Africa’s cancellation of the Africa Gold Cup in 2019 due to sponsorship loss.

This is going to be the first time Kenya will host a Victoria Cup match after a seven-year break from the tournament. The final fixture played in Nairobi was on 23rd July in 2011 at the Nyayo Stadium where Kenya lost 21-26 to the eventual Victoria Cup champions Zimbabwe. The return of the tournament should provide interest for all the fans and might even give them the urge to bet. Betting on these games is possible with many operators, but if you want to find out who provides the best odds and the best bonuses click here to get all the information and comparison you need.

The Kenya Simbas squad facing Zambia this weekend will see five debutants earn their first cap. Four of them will be in the starting lineup while the fourth one will start on the bench on Saturday. Francis Mwita, Brian Amaitsa, Samuel Asati, Eliud Mulakoli and Ian Njenga are looking forward to their first cap for the National senior fifteens team.

Head Coach Paul Odera has recalled the services of Geofrey Okwach, Emmanuel Silungi and John Okoth all who featured for The Simbas on June 22nd during the first Elgon Cup match in Kisumu. Curtis Lilako is the appointed match day Captain and will be assisted by Elkeans Musonye and Jacob Ojee all of whom are in the starting lineup.

Regular tickets are Kshs. 500 while the VIP tickets are going for Ksh. 1000. The tickets can be bought via the paybill number below.

KRU Pay bill number: 155550
Account Name: KENvZAM

The Simbas squad that will face Zambia is as follows;

The Simbas squad that will face Zambia is as follows;

Postion Surname Name Club Current Age Caps 
Loose Head Prop Simiyu Oscar K.C.B. RFC 23 20
Hooker Francombe Toby Nondies RFC 21 4
Tighthead Prop Lilako Curtis (Captain) K.C.B. RFC 29 37
LH Lock Mwita Francis K.C.B. RFC 26 0
TH Lock Onsando Malcolm Kenya Harlequin F.C. 24 11
Backrow/6 Amaitsa Brian Nondies RFC 19 0
Backrow/7 Akuei Monate Top Fry Nakuru RFC 21 4
Number 8 Musonye Elkeans (Co-Captain) Resolution Impala Saracens 24 14
Scrum half Asati Samuel K.C.B. RFC 19 0
Flyhalf Kuka Charles USIU RFC 22 4
11 Okwach Geoffrey K.C.B. RFC 19 1
Inside Centre Mungau Johnstone Kabras Sugar RFC 26 4
Outside Center Mulakoli Eliud USIU RFC 25 0
14 Ojee Jacob (Co-Captain) K.C.B. RFC 28 29
15 Njoroge Isaac K.C.B. RFC 22 3
16 Musila Griffin K.C.B. RFC 24 4
17 Njenga Ian Nondies RFC 19 0
18 Thairu Melvin Kenya Harlequin F.C. 22 3
19 Muniafu Simon Resolution Impala Saracens 23 20
20 Silungi Emmanuel Menengai Cream Homeboyz RFC 19 1
21 Onsomu Samson Resolution Impala Saracens 27 25
22 Odhiambo Anthony Resolution Impala Saracens RFC 23 3
23 Okoth John Top Fry Nakuru RFC 19 1
      Average age 22