The 23rd Edition of the Safari Sevens rugby tournament will be held on 18th-20th October at the RFUEA Grounds in Nairobi. The tournament will held on the Mashujaa Day weekend.

The Safari Sevens returned to RFUEA Grounds in 2018 after an eight year hiatus that saw the tournament played at the Nyayo and Kasarani Stadiums. Last year’s Safari Sevens event was on 10th November – 11th November and it saw Samurai reclaimed the Safari Sevens title with a 21-14 victory over Shujaa in a final played on Sunday 11 November 2018. Morans finished third with a 12-5 win over Spain as Portugal defeated Homeboyz 31-7 to claim fifth place.

The invited teams for the 2019 edition are: Defending Champions Samurai, France, England, Canada, Japan, Botswana, USA, South Africa, Portugal, Spain, Nigeria, Red Wailers, Ghana, Apache, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Hong Kong, Uganda and Russia.

Separately, the 2019 National Rugby Sevens Circuit (NSC) is ongoing. It began on 20th July with the first event being Kakamega Sevens, in Kakamega County. The next event in the series is the Prinsloo Sevens which will held tomorrow 17th August – 18th August at Nakuru Athletics Club.

This year, the National Rugby Sevens Circuit has been named the Stanbic Sevens Series after sponsorship from Stanbic Bank Kenya. The end of the National Rugby Sevens Circuit will culminate in the Safari Sevens 2019. The Safari Sevens and the NSC are organized and managed by the Kenya Rugby Union (KRU).

Here are the past winners of the Safari Sevens by year;

1996 Public Schools Wanderers (U.K)
1997 Kenya
1998 Bristol University (England)
1999 Public Schools Wanderers (U.K)
2000 Shujaa
2001 British Army (U.K)
2002 British Army (U.K)
2003 Kenya
2004 Kenya
2005 Samoa
2006 Emerging Springboks (South Africa)
2007 Emerging Springboks (South Africa)
2008 Kenya
2009 Kenya
2010 Kenya
2011 Samoa
2012 South Africa Elite Player Development
2013 Shujaa
2014 Welsh Warriors (Wales)
2015 Samurai
2016 Shujaa
2018 Samurai