35 of Kenya’s leading painters and illustrators showcased their works at an exhibition held by Safaricom to celebrate artists. The artists’ paintings and illustrations featured in Safaricom’s annual This Is My Kenya campaign and 2019 calendar.

The artists included Daniel Njoroge, Kathy Katuti, Edwin Jongo, Michael Soi, Ellam Ombula, Patrick Karanja, Dickson Were and Tobiko Rupante.

The This Is My Kenya campaign has been held annually since 2014, and brings together the country’s best talents in photography, painting and storytelling to showcase Kenya’s beauty and diversity through art. Each year, these works are then featured in the Safaricom calendar.

“We received over 2,000 submissions from all over the country, and worked with the Kenya National Museum as well as renowned art collectives including Kuona Collective, Brush Tu, Dust Depot and The GoDown Arts Centre to help us select the pieces that would feature in our calendar. The selection process was quite challenging since we received very many high quality submissions, but we’re happy with the outcome and are fortunate to be in a position to nurture talent, support and celebrate Kenyan artists,” said Sylvia Mulinge, Chief Customer Officer – Safaricom.

Safaricom has invested in the arts through various initiatives such as the This Is My Kenya campaign, Safaricom Youth Orchestra, Twaweza Live music concerts, the Safaricom Jazz Festival, and the Michael Joseph Centre, a free-to-use space for the creative industry.

This Is My Kenya celebrates Kenyan creative talent in writing, photography, film, illustration and painting and art. It showcases Kenya’s wildlife, landscapes and cultures through powerful imagery and storytelling.

Last year’s This Is My Kenya campaign also saw a selection of some of Kenya’s most talented 2D illustrators and painters offer their work up for sale on, where collectors and art enthusiasts can still purchase the one of a kind original pieces.

Artists featured in the Safaricom 2019 calendar include:

1. Wycliff Opondo
2. Clavers Odhiambo
3. Daniel Njoroge
4. Hannington Gwanzu
5. Michael Daman
6. Patrick Karanja
7. Kathy Katuti
8. Stephen Nyaga Hiram
9. Michael Kyalo – has two pieces
10. Kennedy Kinyua Kimani
11. Evans Yegon
12. George Kang’oroti Muuruh
13. Kaafiri Kariuki
14. Charles Ngatia
15. Wilson Matunda
16. Patrick Peter Kinuthia
17. Charles Simeon
18. Dickson Nedia Were
19. Munene Kariithi
20. Samuel N Njoroge
21. Edwin Jongo
22. Samuel Waithaka
23. Coster Ojwang
24. Tobiko Rupante
25. Stanley Cheche
26. Michael Soi
27. Carl Lewis Ayieko
28. Okeya Odhiambo
29. Frank Mcharo
30. Ellam Ombula
31. Charles Mutune
32. Peter Elungat
33. Anthony Okello
34. Patrick Mukabi
35. Dennis Muraguri