Rose Ogega appointed to the Safaricom Board of Directors

Safaricom House

Safaricom has announced the appointment of Ms. Rose Ogega to its Board of Directors. The board met on 12th February 2019 and approved the appointment of Ms. Ogega as an independent non-executive director effective 12th February 2019.

“Ms. Ogega brings wealth of experience spanning over 25 years advising and managing both large, complex and emerging startup ventures. Her previous boardroom experience and versatility will certainly add value to Safaricom Board, helping take the organization to the next level of success,” said Mr. Nicholas Ng’ang’a, Safaricom Chairman.

Rose Ogega

Rose is currently the Managing Director of Bloom Consultancy, an executive coaching organization that focuses on leadership development through mentoring and coaching.

The full list of the Safaricom Board of directors is now as follows:

  • Nicholas Nganga – Chairman & Non-Executive Director
  • Bob Collymore – Executive Director & Chief Executive Officer of Safaricom
  • Michael Joseph – Non-Executive Director
  • Esther Koimett – Alternate to Henry Rotich (CS Finance)
  • Kathryne Maundu – Company Secretary
  • Bitange Ndemo – Non-Executive Director
  • Vivek Badrinath – Non-Executive Director
  • Mohamed Shameel Aziz Joosub – Non-Executive Director
  • Till Streichert – Non-Executive Director
  • Linda Watiri Muriuki – Non – Executive Director
  • Rose Ogega – Non – Executive Director

Safaricom is the largest telecommunications in Kenya and provides voice, data, financial services and enterprise solutions to over 29.5 million customers in Kenya. It is listed on the Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE) and it has annual revenues in excess of Ksh. 200 Billion. The company plans to invest Ksh. 38 in infrastructure this year. Safaricom pioneered mobile money transfer in Kenya through M-PESA in Kenya. It now has 28.6 million M-Pesa customers and over 156,500 M-PESA Agent outlets countrywide.

More Stories
UNDP and Microsoft Partner to Empower 200,000 Entrepreneurs in Ethiopia