Matiang’i appoints new members to the Firearms Licensing Board


Interior CS Fred Matiang’i has announced new members of the Firearms Licensing Board. The new board will be chaired by Charles Mwongera.

The board will serve for a period of 3 years with effect from the 3rd December, 2018.

The board members are:

  • Charles Mwongera Mukindia— (Chairperson)
  • David Kahinga
  • Jackson Kimutai Rotich
  • Vincent Wahoro
  • Nancy Kabete
  • Justin Odhiambo Khaduli
  • Lazarus Mbondo

The Minister last Friday disbanded the previous board on the grounds of corruption and incompetence, leading to proliferation of illegal weapons. He also suspended all firearms dealers’ licences and asked that a fresh vetting be conducted.

We have noted that the new board fails the two thirds gender requirement that is provided for in the constitution as it only has one woman.

More Stories
Emirates is offering discounts on return flights starting from $484 until 21 January