Prudential, an Assurance company in Kenya, has appointed a new team to drive growth in East and Central Africa.

Arjun Mallik, formerly CEO of Prudential Uganda will oversee operations in the region which covers Kenya, Uganda and Zambia. Under his leadership, Prudential has become a well-recognized brand in Uganda and the fastest-growing life and health insurer for the last five years. Most recently, Prudential was named the Most Innovative Life Insurer in Uganda by the Insurance Regulatory Authority of Uganda.

Gwen Kinisu has been appointed CEO of Prudential Life Assurance Kenya (PLAK) and will report to Arjun. She takes over from Raxit Soni who presided over a period of growth for PLAK and a series of impactful community activities.

Mr. Soni assumes the role of Chief Actuary, Prudential Africa. He joined PLAK seven years ago as the Head of Risk and Compliance.

Gwen has over 14 years of experience in insurance and banking. She was the Chief Commercial Officer for PLAK since 2018. During her tenure, Gwen drove continued growth in the business and built strong relationships with banks, brokers and other partners.

Commenting on the newly appointed leadership team, Wilf Blackburn, Regional CEO, Insurance Growth Markets, Prudential Corporation Asia said, “Prudential has laid a solid foundation in Africa over the past seven years and will continue to scale its operations and strengthen local capabilities to deliver on its growth strategy. Core to our commitment is the investment we are making in the development and advancement of our people. Our Africa leadership team demonstrates the opportunities we are creating and will continue to create for our talents in the continent.”

East and Central Africa is one of four sub-regions in the continent that Prudential has a presence and interest in. Other regions include Francophone Africa, Western and Southern Africa and Northern Africa.

Prudential serves over 1.3 million customers, and has a strong distribution network of more than 13,000 agents and over 600 bank branches across 8 countries; Kenya, Ghana, Uganda, Zambia, Nigeria, Cote d’ Ivoire, Cameroon and Togo.