Beatrice Elachi among 5 women elected as County Assembly speakers


These five women continue to break barriers in politics through their election as County Assembly speakers in 5 different Counties in Kenya.

1.Beatrice Elachi

Former nominated senator Beatrice Elachi was elected speaker of the Nairobi county assembly by an outstanding majority. She won in the first round with 90 out of the possible 122 votes.

She replaces former speaker Alex Ole Magelo who did not defend his seat. Elachi had contested for the Dagoretti North parliamentary seat on a Jubilee party ticket in the just concluded August 8th elections but lost to Paul Simba Arati, an ODM candidate.

2. Elizabeth Ayoo

Elizabeth Ayoo was elected speaker of Homabay county assembly after beating her close competitor, John Apollo with 31 votes out of a possible 61 during the second round vote. John Apollo came in second with 29 votes.

3. Florence Mwangangi

The former member of the Judicial Service Commission was elected speaker of Machakos county assembly after a first round win. She garnered 41 out of the 59 votes. She had been endorsed as the preferred candidate both Wiper Democratic Movement and Maendeleo party.

4. Catherine Mukenyang

Catherine Mukenyang beat her only competitor, Robert Katina to be elected speaker of the county assembly for West Pokot.

She was a former member of the County Executive Committee in charge of health. She had contested for the women representative seat on a KANU party ticket but lost to Lilian Tomitom in the August 8th 2017 elections.

5. Mudeizi Mbone

Mudeizi Mbone secured 23 votes in a second round win to become the elected speaker of the Vihiga county assembly.

She is a former lawyer and was endorsed by Amani National Congress as the preferred candidate for the seat.