The Konza Technopolis Development Authority (KoTDA) has launched the infrastructure development for the First phase of the Konza Techno City.

The infrastructure development for the initial phase incorporates the construction of a 4.2 km access road, built by the Kenya Urban Roads Authority (KURA).Other infrastructure developments are the installation of power lines, and the construction of water and sewage system within Konza Technopolis.

Speaking during the launch of the first phase, Deputy President William Ruto said “The implementation of Konza Techno City, which is one of the key flagship projects of Vision 2030, will position the country as a leading ICT destination by leveraging and expanding Kenya’s technology focused industries,” said Deputy President Ruto.

The Deputy President also announced that a cabinet committee of participating ministries has been constituted by H.E. President Uhuru Kenyatta to fast track the development of infrastructure for Phase 1 of the Konza Techno City.

Significant milestones that have been achieved so far by KoTDA include hiring of the Master Delivery Partner 2 (MDP2), completion of the cadastral survey, drilling and equipping of 7 boreholes, and installation of power lines.

Other achievements include the approval by the Attorney General of the Draft KoTDA Bill to expand the mandate of the Authority and approval design drawings for the construction of an iconic Sales Pavilion by the Directorate of Public Works.

Konza development puts the private sector at the center of its execution with the government providing land, legal backing and approving architectural plans. The government is also expected to build primary infrastructure leading to and within the technopolis.

The Technopolis is expected to host various amenities including research centres, a university complex, offices, commercial and residential houses and parks. It is also expected to host foreign and local business process outsourcing companies, a science park, a convention centre, hotels, shopping malls, international schools and health facilities.