Full list of winners in the Sondeka Awards 2018


The winners of the Sondeka Awards 2018 were announced at a colourful event at the Louis Leakey auditorium at the National Museum of Kenya. Winter Oirya, G-cho Pevu and Tetu Shani were among the winners.

The awards are organized by Creatives Garage and are aimed at appreciating and encouraging Kenyan creatives.

The competition was opened on 15th February 2018 with creatives submitting their work into the competition in 8 categories. Thereafter, a panel of judges, i.e. James Wamathai, Sylvia Gichia and Murage Gichuki, selected nominees from a pool of over 130 successful applicants. The selection process was guided by criteria which included: creativity of technique and process, execution, quality of craft, innovation and the overall experience of the craft. The public then voted for the nominees and according to Creatives Garage, 30,000 votes were recorded.

Here is the full list of winners in the Sondeka Awards 2018

1. Traditional Art

Winter Oirya – Winner
David Maina
Oscar Osumo

2. Poets and Spoken word

Nicole Akinyi – Winner
Michael Onsando
Mumbi Macharia
Tessy Aura
Stori za Kapedo

3. Digital Art

Anne Gichuki – Winner
Wanjiru Thiong’o
Feysal Anthony Nair

4. Alternative/Experimental music

G-cho Pevu – Winner
Abakisimba Troupe
Ayrosh N/A
L.O.T Group
Linda Girl Group

5. Short Stories

Mark Maish – Winner
James Gicheru
Mishi Khalid
Lolyne Ongeri
Mwihaki Muraguri

6. Dance

Dancing Biochemist – Winner
Bboy Harry
Oneal Otutu

7. Live Bands

Tetu Shani – Winner
Maia Von Lekow
Grand Master Masese

8. Online radio and Podcasts

The Music Junkies – Winner
Omenerds Podcast
Sasabasi live

9. Judges Award

Maia Von Lekow – Winner

More Stories
Vivo Energy Kenya appoints Joe Muganda as their new Managing Director