Safaricom has announced a Ksh. 6 million sponsorship for the 10th edition of the East African Safari Classic Rally through its MPESA platform. The rally will officially kick off on February 10th and run through the 18th of February. It is expected to feature a record number of Kenyan and International drivers from more than 15 countries around the world covering up to 5,000 kilometers across the country.

This year’s Classic Rally rekindles the spirit of the original Safari Rally which put East Africa on the motorsport map. The rally will begin at Kedong ranch in Naivasha then proceed to Sarova Woodlands in Nakuru, Aberdare Prestige in Nanyuki, Kilima Camp in Amboseli for three days then to Salt Lick Lodge at Taita Hills. After Taita, the rally will conclude at the Ocean Sports in Watamu, where the Prize Giving Gala will be held.

Speaking while making the sponsorship announcement, Safaricom CEO Peter Ndegwa said, “Safaricom has been a key supporter of the East African Classic Safari Rally for the last two editions. Our involvement in this event underlines our commitment to nurture talent in sports. By featuring local and international drivers, the rally provides an opportunity to empower and inspire more local drivers.”

On his part, Joey Ghose, Chairman East African Safari Classic Rally stated, “We are glad to have Safaricom through its MPESA Global and MPESA App platforms being part of the tenth edition of East Africa Classic Safari Rally. The tenth edition is one of its kind as we will have a record number of participants from across the globe, which is a sharp increase in number from the past editions.”

The East African Classic Safari Rally has been running every two years since 2003 and is open to two-wheel drive, naturally aspirated rally cars built before 1985. The race aims to showcase the beauty of the East African landscape with vehicles racing through world-famous game parks, with overnight stops at the region’s finest lodges and hotels. Previous winners of the Classic include legends of motorsport including Björn Waldegård, Ian Duncan, Stig Blomqvist and local driver Carl Flash Tundo.