Mwamba RFC won the George Mwangi Kabeberi Memorial Sevens (Kabeberi Sevens) that was held on 27 and 28th July at the Kinoru Stadium in Meru County.

Mwamba beat Menengai Oilers 27-7 in the Main Cup final that was held on Sunday. Mwamba scored five tries converting one against Menengai Oilers one converted try. Mwamba took a a 15-00 lead by half time after Steve Sikuta scored the first try and Tony Omondi missing the twos.

Top Fry Nakuru RFC finished third after narrowly beating Kakamega Sevens champions KCB 17-12. Menengai Cream Homeboyz who won Kabeberi sevens last year secured the 5th place with a 12-0 win over Nondescripts while Impala Saracens defeated Strathmore Leos 21-14 to win the Challenge trophy. Ngong road side Kenya Harlequins finished 13th after beating varsity side Catholic Monks 26-17. Odhiambo scooped the MVP award in the second leg of the National sevens circuit.

Mwamba’s Billy Odhiambo and Austine Sikutwa from Menengai Oilers were top try scores with 7 tries.
Impala Saracens Mark Kwemoi scooped the Top points scorer with 56 points. Outstanding Tony Omondi from Mwamba was named the Most promising player.

The Kabeberi Sevens is part of the National Sevens Circuit. It resumes on 10th August – 11th August at the Dala Sevens which will be held at Mamboleo Showgrounds in Kisumu County. The remaining schedule is as follows;

  • 10th August – 11th August – Dala Sevens, Mamboleo Showgrounds
  • 17th August – 18th August – Prinsloo Sevens, Nakuru Athletics Club
  • 31st August – 1st September – Christie Sevens, RFUEA Grounds
  • 7th September – 8th September – Driftwood Sevens, Mombasa Sports Club

The 2019 the National Rugby Sevens Circuit has been named the Stanbic Sevens Series after sponsorship from Stanbic Bank Kenya.

The end of the National Rugby Sevens Circuit will culminate in the Safari Sevens 2019 which will most likely be held at the RFUEA Grounds in Nairobi. The 2019 Safari Sevens will be held on October 19 – October 20 2019.